RSS

CSA time!

01 Jul

image

image

I’m so excited that it’s CSA time.  For those of you that don’t know what a CSA is, it’s Community Supported Agriculture.  As a member of a CSA you purchase a share in a farm and give them money up front to grow vegetables for you.  In Pass Lake, where I live my friends Brendan & Marcelle own a farm, called Sleepy G Farm.  The name comes from the farm’s location, which is on a peninsula/mountain called the Sleeping Giant.  Sleepy G farm is an organic farm and I work here two days a week in the summer.  Great food and friends what more can you ask for.

This week we received box number 1.  It has been a slow start to summer, lots of rain and overcast days, so stuff is growing at a slower pace, but our first box was still full of fresh veggies.  We recieved: bok choy, koho, cilantro, scallions, radishes and fresh baby salad greens.

My first CSA meal was fresh sauteed greens with onions and bacon.

 
3 Comments

Posted by on July 1, 2011 in Uncategorized

 

3 responses to “CSA time!

  1. Donloree

    July 1, 2011 at 9:21 pm

    Mmmm!! Can I CSA from Edmonton even if I have no veggies to swap? lol!

     
    • passlakeprincess

      July 4, 2011 at 5:09 am

      You don’t swap veggies, you just find a local CSA, buy into it and you get the veggies every week 🙂

       
  2. Allie

    July 3, 2011 at 1:48 am

    I have always wanted to be a part of a CSA! I can’t wait to hear about what else you get and how you cook with it!

     

Leave a comment