RSS

When Lacking Time I like Meat and Potatoes – Fitness Blog World Post #2

29 May

Your 5 most FAVORITE exercises or routines to do when lacking time. What’s a fast, effective workout? Or how do you structure your time effectively when its a busy week and can’t get all your normal workouts in? What are the important elements of your fitness that can’t be sacrificed when unexpected obstacles come up?

There are two kinds of excercises for those who are wanting to put on size, your meat and potatoes exercises and your dessert exercises.  The Meat and Potatoes are the most important for helping you bulk up and the dessert exercises are there just to slaughter your muscles a little more.  Since my ultimate goal is to build larger muscles, when I run short on time I make sure I get in my Meat and Potatoes.

Back Squats:
My life has become all about squatting.  Every week, sometimes twice a week, I squat, squat and squat some more.  When leg day is rushed, I make sure I get in my squats as they are the most important exercise for gaining size.  I squat ass to grass and as heavy as I can, till going up those two weenie stairs to the water fountain feels like climbing a mountain.

Barbell Curls:
Welcome to the gun show!  A while back we posted some of our exercises that we love to hate.  I used to hate barbell curls.   I think it was because my form at one time stunk and I was just plain terrible at them.  Since then I’ve perfected my form and I now love working arms.  Barbell curls give me a pump like no other arm exercise and I must admit, it’s kind of fun to flex 😉

Overhead presses:
Shoulders, shoulders I want to turn you into boulders.  Nothing makes a woman look more strong and fit than a nice part of sculpted shoulders.  Military Press or Standing Dumbell Presses are a go to exercise for this girl. It is an exercise that simply cannot me missed or skipped.  I schedule my shoulder day with a trainer so that I make sure I get the best workout possible.  I always want to ensure that I have a spotter and that I leave nothing back on shoulder day.

Stiff Legged Deadlift:
Not only is this exercise amazing for building nice, big, juicy hammies, it also happens to be one of my favourite exercises.  My whole life I have had notoriously tight hamstrings, this exercise has not only helped tone and strengthen my hamstrings, but helped me become more flexible than I have ever been before.

Dips:
Tri day is all about dips.  At the moment I can only do horizontal ones.  I have been doing negative horizontal dips because I dream of one day being able to pump out 10.  Performing both forms of this exercise have been instrumental in developing my tris.  I like that you can do horizontal dips anywhere (all you need is two chairs or a chair and a bench) and I love the burn of the vertical dip.

Tips for making it all fit in:
Schedule your workouts like you schedule your activites.  If it’s written in your calendar you will do it. Furthermore, find a workout partner or trainer who will hold you accountable on the days when you just don’t feel like it.  When you make an appointment to work out with someone else you are less likely going to cancel when the going gets tough.  We are so quick to let down ourselves, but not as quick to let down others.

Visit http://fitnessblogworld.wordpress.com and click on the links to other fitness bloggers to get their perspective on this topic!

 
3 Comments

Posted by on May 29, 2011 in Uncategorized

 

3 responses to “When Lacking Time I like Meat and Potatoes – Fitness Blog World Post #2

  1. Dawn

    May 29, 2011 at 3:40 pm

    Ass to the grass…lo e it. Now ever time I squat I will be saying that to myself.

     
  2. allieksmith

    May 30, 2011 at 2:45 am

    Squatting KILLS me! I love overhead presses though 🙂

     
  3. Tenecia

    June 1, 2011 at 2:53 am

    LOVE stiff legged deadlifts & barbell curls!!!

    T.

     

Leave a Reply

 
