RSS

Paleo or Not?

13 May

This Fitness Model competition has been changing me drastically.  I had no idea I would make so many changes to my lifestyle before prep even started.  When I first decided to compete I followed Tosca Reno’s Cooler 1 from the Clean Diet.  I saw great results but then decided I needed to find trainer.  When I first started following my trainer’s diet plan, he started talking to me about Charles Poliquin’s thoughts on Paleo eating. When he first suggested eliminating all grain from my diet I wasn’t receptive.  I couldn’t imagine life without my morning oats.  On top of that he suggested I kick the dairy?  What! now no evening yogurt?  No way, not before prep, no way.

But months passed.  My muscle mass increased and I was really wanting to see myself lean out a little more. Competition prep was getting closer and closer and my newbie mind couldn’t help but think, how will I handle prep? maybe I should start making changes now…this and Charles recommending the Paleo Diet on his list of suggested reads made me start to make changes.  I immediately went and bought the Paleo Solution.  After reading the book I implemented the 30 day trial period.  I did it and yes I didn’t cheat once! I followed my trainer’s recommendations Paleo style and finished the term.  At the end of the term I felt great, allergy symptoms reduced, felt no need to eat dairy or oats.  I was all gung ho for prep, after my 30 day trial, I knew I could do 120 days days if I could do 30.  But I also knew in the back of my head that it would be hard, exhausting and full of cravings.  Did I want to continue eating Paleo straight through til prep?  I was worried about burnout.  I didn’t want to eat so strict that in the middle of prep, I snap and eat a box of cookies.  I talked to my trainer to discuss a mid way plan.  The plan was to eat Paleo and by his plan everyday except for 1 meal a week.  For 1 meal a week I could eat whatever I want.  In theory this sounded great.

What I didn’t realize was that my body had adapted to Paleo eating already and it loved it.  Each treat meal I have eaten since I have felt like total crap.  Not just immediately after eating the food, but for two days following…

This is where I realized that I was on the brink of making lifestyle changes beyond contest prep.  My body is ready for the change but my mind/emotions are still not ready to admit that I can do it for life.

Going Paleo would mean:
No more stuffing, potatoes or gravy at Christmas.
No more Birthday Cake.
Always bringing my own food to a pot luck
Never being able to eat dinner friend’s houses every again

So, this is where I am today.  When I first decided to do this competition I figured I would diet through prep and then after my competition is over, I would eat clean (not Paleo) until next prep and then re implement the competition prep changes.

Now I have no idea.

While I can’t say that I am Paleo now, because that would be like saying I’m a vegetarian that eats chicken on Saturdays.  I think I am slowly moving towards being Paleo for life.

I haven’t committed yet, but I’m on the brink…because really, the foods that I think I crave don’t taste as good as I remember them tasting and I don’t deserve to feel like crap.  The reason why I never drink alcohol is because I don’t enjoy feeling like crap for two days after, why is pizza any different?

So to set the record straight, I’m not Paleo, but I certainly am a Paleo enthusiast.

Until then I formally make the change: I will continue to use protein powder after work outs and I might occasionally eat a non Paleo treat meal once a week.

 
5 Comments

Posted by on May 13, 2011 in Uncategorized

 

5 responses to “Paleo or Not?

  1. chocolatemuscle

    May 13, 2011 at 10:16 pm

    Very Interesting..I’m going to go have to learn more about Paleo..not for my own diet, but just cause i’ve been hearing that alot and i’m not sure what it is.
    You’re sorry about treat meals reminds me of the first time i had a cheat meal on my contest diet..It was sushi..and the second after i finished roll #1..i immediately had a stomach ache. sure it didnt last 2 days..but it was BRUTAL..and i was sad cause the sushi tasted awesome.

    LMao..when is your contest, and how much longer till your there..i think your mindset is wonderful. You understand the difference between what food USED to taste like..and how they taste now…i need to teach myself that same thing. UGH..the cravings suck..ha ha 🙂

     
    • passlakeprincess

      May 14, 2011 at 2:23 am

      My contest is October 22. My prep will start on June 20th. Lucky for me, sushi actually sat well with me (although it is a non Paleo food, so if I decide to go paleo maki is out *pout*). It appears that rice doesn’t hurt me so much. It’s more sugar, wheat and dairy. Regardless, I’m still shocked that my mindset has changed so much already. I had no idea this would happen to me, I honestly said I’ll do this competition and then I’ll eat normally again. I think this pre prep diet is becoming my normal. What a trip?!

       
      • chocolatemuscle

        May 14, 2011 at 6:25 am

        what a trip indeed…but i’m glad that you’re adjusting well. And it seems that you ‘re absolutely determined to do what you need to do. It’s not a hardship to you and that is sooo beneficial when it comes to your prep…it will make it so much easier than what happens with most people (me)..lol

         
  2. Allie

    May 14, 2011 at 12:11 pm

    It sounds like paleo really works for you 🙂

     
  3. Sakura

    June 4, 2011 at 3:48 pm

    Do it!!! Lol. Sorry. I stumbled onto your blog from Tenicia’s blog and BAM! Saw Paleo. I did the Whole30 Challenge–totally strict paleo. I was reading about no gravy or potatoes or birthday cake–all possible while Paleo. Ok, so it’s not exactly the real deal but there are ways around it.

    The question is if you want to go hard-core, strict paleo or just kinda paleo. So for example, you could do mashed parsnips or cauliflower for “mashed potatoes” and there are recipes for cake, ice cream and cookies! But like I said, it depends on how strict you are going to be.

    Good luck. It’s an amazing thing! I leaned out like nobody’s business. I have a post about it too from I think February. There’s a series of photos of friends who did it for 9 weeks. Pretty awesome. All CrossFitters. 🙂

     

Leave a Reply

 
