RSS

Fitness Blog World – Post #1

13 May

While prepping for a contest, or even just preparing to achieve a goal, how do you handle naysayers and those who don’t support you? Do you have a mantra you repeat? A friend you call? What helps you take your eyes off the obstacle, and back on the task at hand?

I’ve always been a rebel, a rabble rouser, a weirdo or “creative” as my parent’s friends used to describe me.   I’ve always marched to my own drum, and been so stubborn that I did what I wanted despite what other people’s opinions were.  I also came from a family of teasers, so in my house you had to have a thick skin.  If there was something you were self conscious about, it couldn’t last for long, because if a family member found out about your weakness you were going to be teased and as a result, not much bothers me.

I guess this part of my personality/upbringing is a benefit to my training.  That’s not to say that it doesn’t hurt sometimes when people try and put me down.  Still to this day, every time my mother criticizes what I do it still disappoints me, like most people I want approval from those I love.  I want my friends and family to be excited about what I’m excited about, but I know in life I can’t control how others are going to feel or think.   What I can do however is control how I feel, and since I am confident that what I am doing is healthy, fun and worth the sacrifice.  It doesn’t really matter to me what others feel or think.

My tactics for dealing with naysayers:

1) I don’t discuss my goals with negative people.  Negative people don’t generally have anything positive to say, so I don’t give them the opportunity to tell me something I don’t want to hear.

2) Surround yourself with positive and encouraging people.  My whole life I have had zero patience for superficial and gossipy people.  All my friends are down to earth, open minded and supportive individuals.  Most of my close friends are not into working out, nor do any of them have the desire to compete.  What is so great about them is regardless of the fact that they don’t understand the allure of what I’m into, they respect and support me because it’s something I want and something that makes me happy.  Furthermore, my girlfriends are exactly who I turn to when I’m feeling down, they have a magical way of putting things into perspective for me and I’m happy to do the same for them.  Sometimes we are our own worst enemies.  Our friends/Bobettes are the people we can count on.  Don’t suffer in silence, vent it out to your girls and everything will be better!

Here are the individual blogs of the other gals:

 
2 Comments

Posted by on May 13, 2011 in Uncategorized

 

2 responses to “Fitness Blog World – Post #1

  1. allieksmith

    May 13, 2011 at 11:00 am

    Good tips for dealing with those naysayers! I wish I was stubborn like you 🙂

     
  2. Hailey

    November 1, 2011 at 4:40 am

    Hi, I came across your site and wasn’t able to get an email address to contact you. Would you please consider adding a link to my website on your page. Please email me back and we’ll talk about it.

    Thanks!

    Hailey William

     

Leave a Reply

 
