RSS

Blast from the Past – Part 1

25 Mar

Inspired by Donloree Huffman’s last post, I too am going to pay omage how far I’ve come.  Maybe I should start by telling my story:

I was never an athletic child.  While I enjoyed running and swimming I was always clumsy, therefore I was never your ideal athlete.  I was an indoor child, who was quiet, shy and happy to sit in a corner with my crayons for hours on end.

As a child I took dance classes, but they never lasted for more than a year because once I was made to stand on stage in front of 3000 parents at our community auditorium I would beg my parents to never make me go back, as much as I loved dance I never wanted to face the terror of putting myself out there like that again.

In junior high, I tried out for all of the sports teams, I never qualified for any of them.  In fact I vividly remember the phys ed “tests” where your mark was how many baskets you could get out of 10.  Due to my lack of coordination I always had marks that were just above passing, I guess they can’t fail you when you show up!  Not exactly the kind of experience that would encourage you into athletics.

Fast forward through high school where I hung out with the artsy crowd and picked up smoking. This was an awkward period, I was confident with talents and intellect, but struggled with my body image.  I focussed on my artistic talents and drive to become involved within the arts community and I took various leadership courses.

In 2005 I met my fiance.  We were in college together and after a year of never talking to each other we finally were put in the same class and had some social interaction.  I vividly remember going to a pub called Madhouse with the class, I was smoking and having drink, my fiance to be, had just quit smoking and I was so proud of his strength (being in this atmosphere and not wanting a puff).  The summer came and I was getting ready to work my butt off to pay for tuition when I realized that working more than full time over the summer was not going to earn me enough money to pay for school in the fall.  How was I going to afford to go back?  Where had all my money gone?  After some evaluation I realized that I was spending a significant amount of money every year on cigarettes and if I was ever struggling for cash it was smoking that I had to blame.  At the time I smoked a pack of cigarettes a day, a pack of cigarettes cost $9, $9 x 365 = $3285.00 and my tuition was $4,500.  I knew then and there that if I was going to school in the fall, I was going to have to quit smoking in order to afford it and so the non stop cookie making, junk food eating began, which after some weight gain resulted in me getting my butt to the gym for the very first time in my life.

I had no idea what I was doing, but I went!  To be continued 😀

 
4 Comments

Posted by on March 25, 2011 in Uncategorized

 

4 responses to “Blast from the Past – Part 1

  1. Dawn

    March 25, 2011 at 8:20 pm

    $9 per pack…really? I am so glad that is one habit I never picked up on. Good for you on making the choice that your education was worth more than that. Can’t wait to read the rest of the story.

     
    • passlakeprincess

      March 27, 2011 at 6:11 pm

      Thanks for your comment. I know $9 a pack, gross eh! I wish I could have all the money I smoked away back. I did feel rich for a while after I quit. 😀

       
  2. Donloree

    March 26, 2011 at 11:03 pm

    Love this!! Can’t wait for part 2!

     

Leave a Reply

 
