RSS

Highland Weekend Extravaganza!

21 Feb

This weekend was great.  Friday I went on a road trip with some of my highland dance gal friends.  We went to St. Paul, MN to participate  in the Scottish Ramble Highland Dance Competition.  The weekend was everything I expected and more.  The dance competition was held at the Landmark Centre downtown St. Paul.  I’m not sure what I was expecting, but I certainly did not expect to walk up to a gorgeous historical building!  The building and event was perfect, I obviously had not researched the Scottish Ramble because if I did I would have known that it was an indoor Scottish cultural festival not just dance competition.  There were beautiful venders, oodles of Scottish food and drink.  I loved the atmosphere and was totally cursing myself for forgetting my camera in the hotel room.

The competition went well, I completed all of my dances making only small mistakes in each one (but I refused to let my slips ups show on my face and I smiled through the whole thing).  I guess my game face and practice paid off because I went home with 3 medals:  1 Silver and 2 Bronze.  I was super happy with myself and very excited about watching the afternoon Premier Dancers competition because the National rep for the USA was in attendance and she was amazing.  There is something about watching the best in any given industry that makes you want to strive to achieve more.  I’m so ready to practice a little bit everyday so that my spring points look sharper and my jumps higher.

On top of that we had some good laughs, great food and a wee bit of shopping!  Now for the eating.

Friday Eating:
M1: 1 scoop of protein powder
M2: 1/2 cup of oats, 4 eggs (2 yolk), 1 apple pear with cinnamon
M3: moose hamburger with pesto and spaghetti squash
M4: moose hamburger with pesto and spaghetti squash
M5: hamburger (ate only half of the bun with bacon and cheddar and sweet potato fries in a chipotle mayo
M6: deer meat

Saturday Eating:
M1: 1 scoop of protein powder
M2: 2 whole eggs and 4 slices of bacon
M3: deer kielbasa and more than 2 cups worth of celery and cucumbers
M4: deer kielbasa and more than 2 cups worth of celery and cucumbers
M5: Scheduled Cheat Meal:  6 coconut shrimp, fries and 1 cup of fountain pop & 4 espresso shortbread cookies
M6: last of the kielbasa

Sunday Eating:
M1: 1 scoop of protein powder
M2: 1 egg, 1 cup of ham diced and 3 pineapple chunks
M3: 1 3 whole egg omelets with mushrooms, onions, peppers and tomatoes
M4: 1/2 container of cottage cheese and some moose meat
M5: 1/2 container of cottage cheese
M6:  1 cup of red and green peppers, 4 eggs (2 yolks) with ricotta cheese and salsa

My eating was acceptable for the road, but could have been better.  If I were to do this road trip again I would have pack a little bit more vegetables because I ate all my veggies on Sat and I would have also pack more utensils or precut up some of my meat.  But it’s all a learning lesson.

 

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on February 21, 2011 in Uncategorized

 

Leave a Reply

 
