RSS

Channeling my inner Neanderthal

27 Jan

Yesterday I had a great workout.  Dave (my gym owner) really busted my balls on my form and as always pushed me to my limits; this is what I love most about working out with him.  I like knowing that I can get in a few extra reps because someone is there to catch the dumbells when I almost drop them because my muscles have gone into total failure.

Dave also started teaching me posing techniques, something that I’m happy to start working on.  I have never been really graceful. I’m clumsy and I have a lot to learn about muscle control.  One thing I do know from my experience competing in Highland Dance is that those who look the most comfortable on stage  get the most attention.  Those with perfect technique (or in the physique world, the best physique) can be overshadowed by those with the best stage presence.  So time to start striking a pose!  Where are my Madonna CD’s, time to order me some hooker heels!

Dave and I also had an interesting conversation about food.  I am a foodie.  At least 45% of my daily thought is about food. I’m always trying to find new recipes, thinking about what I want to cook and how much I’m going to look forward to eating my tasty creations. When you are on a figure diet, you definitely need to change the way you look at food.  My trainer suggested looking at food as fuel and nothing more, but because I’m stubborn I refuse to accept that fuel has to be bland. (I will find ways to make it tasty, if it’s the last thing I do muhahahahaha!)

It may seem hard to believe, but after submitting last week’s food diary to my trainer, I was told that I do not consume enough fat.  After evaluating my diet, I realized that I have to change my thoughts about fat.  Like most other woman I think of fat as something you should stay away from, but as my trainer says, you need fat to lose fat.  He also added, “leave the skin on your chicken.”  I was shocked, because for years I have been told not to eat chicken skin because it’s terrible for you and although it’s not the first time I’ve heard the phrase “you need fat to lose fat”, I still am scare to leave the skin on my skin, I’m in disbelief!  (but like a good client, I have faith in my trainer and I will do what he says).

After sharing these thoughts and hesitations about fat with my gym owner, Dave put things into perspective for me.  He told me to think of food like a Neanderthal would.   Early man, who was never obese, never over analyzed the meat he ate.  He would kill an animal and eat it all.  He wouldn’t waste any of the meat, just eat it because he needed to.  Damn early man, if only he know how tasty Holland Bakery was!

Even this concept was not totally new to me.  Eating unprocessed, unrefined foods is the whole theory behind eating raw, clean and the slow food movement.  But it helped me realize, that eating a little chicken skin isn’t going to turn me into the good year blimp.  At least not in this point in my training!

So this week, as my trainer suggests, I’ll keep the skin on my meat and enjoy every minute of being able to do it as it lasts.

Hopefully I having confused any readers with my disjointed train of thought.  There is no pre-requisite to starting a blog!

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on January 27, 2011 in Uncategorized

 

Leave a Reply

 
