RSS

Top 5 exercises I Love to Hate

09 Apr

Top 5 Exercises I Love to Hate

Shoulder Press: This exercise is just plain hard! I find of all the exercises is the one that exhausts me the quickest and makes me feel the most pathetic.  I usually have the ugliest look on my face as I grunt and try not to contort my body in order to lift that damn olympic bar over my head.  Not to mention that I constantly strain my rombus and traps during this exercise.  The ouch and arggg factor make this exercise an overall ugh!

Squats: While squats are probably the most important exercise for me at this stage in my physique building. They are one of the exercises I loathe the most.  If I only had to go 90 degrees I would love them, but my trainer believes that all squats should be performed “ass to grass” and when I’m trying to lift heavy, it’s very hard to get my ass off the grass, it’s that first inch or two where I struggle not to curve my back and or fall over.   Thankfully, I always get through this exercise thinking about the results that I want to have: big strong thighs to match my already pronounced glutes, so I squat, squat and squat some more!

Vertical Dips: While I don’t mind parallel dips because they make me feel good and strong.   I don’t enjoy vertical dips.  Why! I can’t do one yet!  I’m still working up to it by doing negatives.  After my first set (and I have to do five) I’m usually toast.  Plus, I find this is the exercise is where my girliness comes out the most.  Holding on the bars always makes my hands burn.  Do you hear sissitius, yes you do!  But shhh, don’t tell the people at the gym I think this way, I usually don’t share these inner whimpy thoughts with others ;)  I think once I can do a few of these exercises I will like them a lot more.

The Plank! What is there to like about an exercise called the plank? the plank leads you to your doom!  I don’t enjoy the plank because it’s a hard exercise for me.  I can do crunches till the cows come home but the plank sets my lower back on fire.  Although it’s the back that hurts I know the burning back is a sign of a weak core and this is why my coach makes me do 5 tri sets with the plank 1-2 times a week!.  Oh yeah, he shows his love by bringing the pain.

Standing Barbell Curls: I know this exercise is how you build guns and boy do I want big ones! ha ha ha, so I complete this exercise and grit my teeth through the frustration.  I think half of my issue with this exercise is executing it with good form once the reps get heavy.  I think like any exercise or skill in life practice makes perfect and in the realm of bodybuilding I’m still a baby, learning how to walk.  So when I really just want to put that Olympic bar down I think, Sarah Connor, Sarah Connor, Sarah Connor and squeeze out those last brutal reps.

Anyway, this was a really fun post to write.  I knew from the very beginning that all of the exercises on this list would be the exercises most important ones for my muscular development.  Although they are tough, I always feel great when they are done.

Have a good night ladies, I’m exhausted and ready for bed.  Squats first thing tomorrow morning.  I’ll need my energy to get my ass off the grass.

Other ladies who have made their own exercises they love to hate lists:

Donloree –  http://www.bikiniorbust.com/

Kari –  http://www.figuregirlworld.com/

Dawn — http://www.bareitallfitness.com/

Jen — http://jenklimek.wordpress.com/

Colleen — http://www.thefitbee.com/

Liz — http://4amaven.wordpress.com/

Allison — http://passlakeprincess.wordpress.com/

 

 
4 Comments

Posted by on April 9, 2011 in Uncategorized

 

4 responses to “Top 5 exercises I Love to Hate

  1. Dawn

    April 9, 2011 at 12:16 pm

    My trainer has me using the shoulder press machine more and it is hard. I prefer using dumbbells but maybe that means I need to work on form if I like using the dumbbells more.

     
    • passlakeprincess

      April 10, 2011 at 12:30 am

      No idea! my trainer always either has me use the barbell or the Olympic bar. I definitely prefer seated shoulder press to standing. Standing always strains my back. It makes me nervous. But I know that standing is the better exercise! Maybe he has you use the machine so you don’t have to worry about having a spotter?

       
  2. Donloree

    April 10, 2011 at 4:52 am

    Too funny! Barbell curls are one of my favorites!!! Lol!

     
    • passlakeprincess

      April 10, 2011 at 8:41 pm

      really! I prefer preacher curls and dumbell curls. Standing barbells are brutal!

       

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

